25 Things

One of the things that I have found most difficult about presenting my work to the outside world is thinking about how to talk about my work to people who don’t know me.  This is often done via an artist statement and mine, a work in process, is not up to par.  I am often surprised by my own finished pieces and their meaning isn’t obvious to me until I’ve lived with them for a bit or talked about them with someone who understands my incoherent ramblings while I gather my thoughts.

I came across this article – 25 Random Things About You – about writing an artist statement and it seemed like a good place to start.  Like everything I do, when the list was complete, it was a surprise – but a familiar one!

25 Things About Me and My Work

  1. I love printmaking because of the surprises that I get when I pull the paper off of the plate.
  2. I love monotype because of the fluidity of the process:  ink the plate, print – use the ghosted plate to ink and print again.  There’s something about having that ghost image to work with that really gets me going.
  3. I love both science and art.
  4. Geometry was my favorite math class – ever – and in the top 10 of favorite class.
  5. Drawing with compasses makes me feel safe.  The precise lines and shapes that I can make give me a sense of peacefulness.
  6. I grew up on a farm.
  7. When I was in high school, I wasn’t allowed to take art classes because I was “college bound”.  I ended up in a liberal arts university with a well-known art college.  Hmmmm….
  8. I work in a technical field with computers and try hard to insert creativity “lessons” in the programming class that I teach.
  9. Color and I have a love/hate relationship.  I understand it intellectually, I sometimes am afraid of it, and when it works, I dance!
  10. I love the night sky and the idea of infinity.
  11. Meditation saved my sanity and I don’t do it enough.
  12. I feel at home when I am outside.
  13. I have accumulated a good amount of basic survival skills – making fire, growing my own food, finding water, making cordage.
  14. The first paintings I did were very symbolic and concept oriented.  For years I was critical of myself because of this and tried very hard to not make art that way.  Now my prints are symbolic and concept oriented and I like it.
  15. I feel good when I do physical work like gardening.
  16. Sometimes I just have to sing or dance or laugh out loud.
  17. Tools of any kind fascinate me.  Artist’s tools, carpenter’s tools, cook’s tools.  Tools are powerful because they hold the possibility, the potential for creation.
  18. I am a problem solver.  Give me a problem – I’ll find a solution.
  19. I have a large collection of family photographs.  I wish I knew more about the stories behind them.
  20. It is important to me for things to have meaning.
  21. I love the idea of magic.  This may be related to my need to find meaning in the world.  If I can’t find it, I make it up.
  22. At various points in my life I wanted to be: a medical Dr., a massage therapist, an herbalist, a forest ranger, a hermit, a novelist.
  23. I have a large vocabulary but terrible recall.  I like words for the way they sound, where they come from, and how they have come to be used.
  24. I like to win at Scrabble.
  25. I don’t like to wear shoes.
What do you think?

