Back Home

I am back in NH in a heat wave.  After the beautiful weather in Durango, the humidity and heat are making sleeping difficult; especially when my two cats are so grateful to have me home that they snuggle their furry little bodies up as close as they can to mine all night.

The trip was a huge success.  It accomplished all of the things that I hoped it would:

I had a wonderful bonding experience over the long six days of travel with my son.  We seem to travel well together.  We like the same kinds of food and are happy camping rather than staying indoors.  The one night that thunderstorms forced us (ok, I’ll be honest here – he would have slept outside, I wanted a roof over my head in the rain) was the least pleasant night that we had.  It felt like making the decision to stay inside put a curse on all of the events of the evening.  The meal we had was terrible.  So we tried Mexican food in Ohio – were we all that wrong?  Everyone in the restaurant was speaking Spanish.

Seeing the college gave me a picture that I can refer to when I want to imagine him away at school.  I can remember the mountains that provide the backdrop for the scene and the sound of the clock tower chiming.  I can picture him running the river that runs through the town and driving the windy roads up to the ski area.

While I was there, I tried to keep my distance and let him explore his new life without his Mom looking over his shoulder.  Even this was a good experience for me.  I saw him making new friends and I experienced his care for me as he got up every morning so that we could have breakfast together.  Anyone with teens and young adults knows that sleep is a precious commodity and to sacrifice it for your Mom is truly special.

Even the leave taking was an important lesson for me.  I had thought about all the things that I wanted to say to him before I left; advice, warnings, all the things I wanted to “make sure” that he remembered – in the end, I abandoned all of those and gave him my vote of confidence that he will make the right choices and have a great year.  After all, he is at eighteen, an adult.  After all, he is a wonderful, caring, intelligent human being.  After all, I am proud to be his mother.

2 responses to “Back Home

  1. Welcome back and so glad it was a wonderful bonding experience. Of course you’re proud of him, you should be, he’s a treasure. I can’t sleep either…too damn hot. Can’t wait to hear about the trip and college. Does Simon have a Facebook account…I promise I won’t bug him…just a little spying.

What do you think?

