Poetry Challenge

This afternoon, I got a poetry challenge from my lovely Aunt Stephie – a poet and artist all around wonderful human being. Having had the gauntlet thrown at me, here is my answer to the title “Lost” written in 30 minutes…..

Lost

The last I saw the green ones
they were on the kitchen table near
the red cup with the peace sign
full of cold coffee.

I noticed them
because I knew I would need them
later to thread the sewing machine.

It’s really the progressives that I want though
so that I can see the expiration date
on the milk that got pushed to the back
of the refrigerator
and still identify whose dog is currently eating
the compost while I’m looking out the window.

I remember leaving the pair of tortoiseshells
in my pocket so that I would always have
them if I couldn’t find the others
but that was last week
and the wash has been done since then.

2 responses to “Poetry Challenge

  1. Thanks Ruth – some days its my glasses, some days it’s my mind!!

  2. Love It, Gail! Thanks!! Ruth

What do you think?

